Friendship House

Postal Address: 10A King St Hikurangi  


Ph/Fax:  09 4338452

Physical Address:  Front of Hikurangi War Memorial Hall

Charitable Trust list of Trustees: Chairman  -  Alex Smits; Vice Chairman  -  Betty Fyfe;  Secretary  -  Linda Vanstone;  Treasurer  -  Vicky Humphreys;  Officers  -  Lynn Bowater, Ani Hemara, Irene Walding ,Shayn Rouse, Russell Rawiri, Des Coutts, Sharlene Morris-Ross, Paul Cook,  Kirsten Fathers, Virginia Guy, Paulette Crowther.


Opening Hours: 

Friday 9.30am to 3.00pm

Tuesday & Thursday 9.30am to 12 noon

Closed All Day Monday & Wednesday

Office Staff:

Linda Vanstone

Vicky Humphreys


Admin services




Hall management

Library management



Hikurangi Friendship House Charitable Trust was formed in 1983 and became a Charitable Trust in 1989 by locals working in the interest of our Community.

We purchased the Old Post Office Building in 1992 (with the help of the ASB) and after a lot of hard work we moved our Community Library into this in 1993, with a lot of volunteer help we are still running the Community Library today.

We manage the Hikurangi War Memorial Hall for hire, which includes Indoor Bowls, Badminton, Zumba, Yoga, Older Forum for the Elderly and other Social Events.

We Publish the monthly Hikurangi Bulletin, we do Photocopying, Laminating, Computer Services, Faxes, Liaise with the Whangarei District Council and Library, Drop in Centre, involved with Civil Defence and an Information Centre. We work with the Hikurangi Mountain Lions to help organize the Christmas Carnival. Our staff of Linda and Vicky are very friendly and we are run by a committee of Trustees who are involved with other local organisations too.


Meetings - Dates and Minutes


Meeting Minutes July 2020 (AGM): CLICK HERE

Meeting Minutes August 2020:  CLICK HERE

Meeting Minutes September 2020:  CLICK HERE

Meeting Minutes October 2020: CLICK HERE


Next Meeting: Tuesday 23 March 5.30pm @ Hikurangi Hall

"Bringing the Hikurangi Community Together"


Websites by On Design